Bedford Blues  44 Yorkshire Carnegie 45

Bedford Blues 44 Yorkshire Carnegie 45


Yorkshire Carnegie secured an incredible bonus point win with the last kick of the game to defeat Bedford Blues 45-44 at Goldington Road.

Going into stoppage time, Chris Stirling’s side found themselves 44-35 down however a penalty from Jade Te Rure set up and incredible last ditch score for Dan Temm after Harry Davies and Andy Forsyth combined to put the number eight over between the posts. That left Te Rure with a kick to win the game and he duly slotted it over to seal a remarkable game.

The victory was made all the more telling given how the home side had dominated the first half of the game with a combination of ill discipline and poor execution from the visitors had handed the initiative to Bedford. The Blues, who had lost at Emerald Headingley last month in the Quarter Final of the Championship Cup, were good value for their early 10-0 lead.

Yorkshire were forced to make a late change when skipper Richard Mayhew was ruled out through injury and Antonio Kiri Kiri came into the starting line up. Having missed an early drop goal attempt, they were soon off the mark when Jacob Fields was driven over the line. Jake Sharp added the conversion and a subsequent penalty to put the home side on the front foot.

Carnegie hit back from a penalty that was kicked to the corner and resulted in a penalty try and Sean McCarthy being sin binned for the hosts. Yorkshire then had a great chance to hit the front whilst they had an extra man on the pitch but Chris Elder put down Marc Thomas’ pass.

As it was, Yorkshire were soon down to 14 men themselves when Myles Thoroughgood was sin binned for a tackle in the air and Bedford soon crossed for their second try.

Former Yorkshire player Jarad Williams forced his way over for Bedford’s third try and the Blues seemed in control at that point, especially as they were due to play down the pronounced slope at Goldington Road in the second half.  

Carnegie were once again reduced to 14 men when Joe Buckle was sin binned at the breakdown and the Blues secured the try bonus point after 49 minutes when Worthington crossed for the hosts. Sharp’s conversion made it 27-7 with thirty minutes to go.

There would have been long odds on a comeback at that point and even after Chris Elder finished off brilliantly following good work by Te Rure after 54 minutes. However, soon after Elijah Niko crossed out wide and suddenly Yorkshire had three tries to their name. Te Rure converted both tries to cut the gap to 27-21 on the hour mark.

Sharp kicked a penalty for Bedford to stem the flow of points but soon Pete Lucock went over for Carnegie’s bonus point earning fourth try following good work by the forwards. Te Rure’s conversion brought his side to within a point of the Blues.

Yorkshire suffered a third sin binning when Josh Bainbridge was shown yellow for a dangerous tackle and the Blues would have thought they had the points secured when Adamson won the race to touch down his team’s fifth try.

Yorkshire replied when Niko knocked down a cross field kick into the path of Antonio Kiri Kiri before Bedford responded yet again with a converted try to give them a 44-35 lead in stoppage time.

After a lengthy discussion, Te Rure had a shot at goal for Yorkshire from a penalty in stoppage time that cut the gap to 44-38 and at least get his team a losing bonus point as well.

However, the double advantage was that it set up the potential for a grandstand finish and that is just what happened as Elder prompted the attack that eventually resulted in Temm crossing between the posts. Te Rure kicked the winning conversion with the last kick of the game to cap a memorable night.

Live updates are available from the start of the match and for one week afterwards.

Home Lineup

1. Sean McCarthy
2. Jake Fields
3. Alex Penny
4. Will Carrick-Smith
5. Mark Flanagan
6. Oli Curry
7. Huw Worthington
8. Jarad Williams
9. Lee Dickson (c)
10. Jake Sharp
11. Dean Adamson
12. Dom Morris
13. Matt Worley
14. Ryan Hutler
15. Richard Lane

16. Tadgh McElroy
17. Toby Trinder
18. Ben Cooper
19. Paddy Ryan
20. Josh Buggea
21. James Lennon
22. Ed Coulson

Away Lineup

1. Marc Thomas
2. Joe Buckle
3. Craig Mitchell
4. Daniel Temm
5. Matt Smith
6. Lewis Wilson
7. Josh Bainbridge
8. Antonio Kiri Kiri
9. Jean-Baptiste Bruzulier
10. Jade Te Rure
11. Myles Thoroughgood
12. Pete Lucock (c)
13. Andy Forsyth
14. Elijah Niko
15. Chris Wolfe-Elder

16. Dylan Donnellan
17. Nic Mayhew
18. Andrew Foster
19. Kieran Frost
20. Levi Davis
21. Sam Wolstenholme
22. Tom Bullough

Home Scorers

Jake Fields
Tries: 1

Huw Worthington
Tries: 2

Jake Sharp
Conversions: 4
Penalty Goals: 2

Dean Adamson
Tries: 1

James Lennon
Tries: 1

Tadgh McElroy
Tries: 1

Away Scorers

Elijah Niko
Tries: 1

Chris Wolfe-Elder
Tries: 1

Pete Lucock
Tries: 1

Daniel Temm
Tries: 1

Jade Te Rure
Conversions: 5
Penalty Goals: 1

Antonio Kiri Kiri
Tries: 1