Northampton U18  5 Yorkshire Carnegie U18 17

Northampton U18 5 Yorkshire Carnegie U18 17


Yorkshire Carnegie U18s finished off their Premiership Rugby Academy season with a well earned 17-5 win against Northampton Saints at  Oundle School in Peterborough

Yorkshire Carnegie Player Development Coach Steve Salvin had made six changes to his team that lost out in their last game 28-14 against top placed Leicester Tigers.

Prior to the game, Carnegie had won one and drawn five of their games to put them into fifth place in the league, one place above Saints, who had lost four games.

Yorkshire led early on when winger Jack Cherry, who attends QEGS and plays for Sandal, found space to go over in the corner. The conversion attempt was missed by Dan Lancaster but Carnegie led 5-0.

The lead was increased before half time when GSAL hooker Ben Sugars forced his way over. The try was converted by his West Park Leeds club mate Lancaster to give the visitors a 12-0 lead at the interval.  

Sugars put his side into a winning position with a second try of the game after half time, which Lancaster failed to convert but Yorkshire Carnegie were good value for their 17-0 lead. 

Northampton did manage to cross for a late try but it could not take the gloss of a good days work for the Under 18 side in their final game of the season. 

The Yorkshire Carnegie U18 team in full was:

    1. Conner Hancock – Bishop Burton/Dinnington
    2. Ben Sugars – GSAL/West Park Leeds
    3. Billy Addy – Bishop Burton/Sandal
    4. Oscar Stott – Bishop Burton/Wetherby
    5. Steele Barker – Durham/York
    6. Ben Copley – Hymers/Hull Ionians
    7. Archie Smeaton (Vice Captain) – Hymers/Hull Ionians
    8.Will Smith – Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College/Ripon
    9. Sam Murphy – Bradford Grammar
    10. Dan Lancaster (Captain) – Bishop Burton/West Park Leeds
    11. Oren Loftus – Queen Ethelburga’s
    12. Ben MacNamara – Pocklington
    13. Jake Adams – QEGS
    14. Jack Cherry – QEGS/Sandal
    15. Ollie Williams – Ripon Grammar/Ripon
    16. Madison Hunting – Myerscough/Wharfedale
    17. Sam Dickinson – Prince Henry’s/Wharfedale
    18. Sam Ives – Crossley Heath/Old Crossleyans
    19. Will Pritchard – St John Fisher/Ripon
    20. Marcus Payne – Bishop Burton
    21. Theo Smerdon – Ampleforth College
    22. Joe Mounsey – QEGS
    23. Freddie Clarke – Woodhouse Grove
    Travelling reserves
    24. Jacob Pollard – Crossley Heath/Old Rishworthians
    25. Cain Robb – Driffield/Driffield