Three changes for Yorkshire Carnegie ahead of Trailfinders clash

Three changes for Yorkshire Carnegie ahead of Trailfinders clash


Yorkshire Carnegie Director of Rugby Chris Stirling has made three changes to his starting line up for Saturday’s trip to Ealing Trailfinders, kick off 4pm.

Scrum half Oli Fox will start this week having appeared off the bench at Hartpury on the opening weekend. He replaces JB Bruzulier, who misses out on selection this week.

In the forwards, former Irish U20 international Dylan Donnellan starts at hooker having joined the club on trial this week from Leinster. He previously played in France with Biarritz and joined Yorkshire Carnegie this week on the recommendation of Stuart Lancaster. Charlie Gibbings will start as a replacement this week.

Finally, Academy graduate Elliott Ward will make his first start in the Greene King IPA Championship after being drafted into the starting line up late this week when Matt Smith was ruled out with an infection in his knee 48 hours before the game.

On the bench, former Newcastle prop Andy Foster will make his first appearance since moving to Yorkshire Carnegie in the summer as he replaces James Thraves with Kieran Frost set for his debut also.

Frost signed for Yorkshire Carnegie for the start of the 2018-19 pre-season following a successful year at Wharfedale. He impressed the Carnegie management throughout the previous season with the Dalesmen working under former Carnegie forward Rob Baldwin up in North Yorkshire.

A big second rower, Kieran is studying in the city and shown plenty of potential. He shrugged off interest from other clubs to sign for the Yorkshire Carnegie academy given the clubs track record of developing forwards for the Premiership.

Originally from Towcester, he began his career at his home town club of Towcestrians and was also a member of the Bedford Blues Academy early in his career. 

The team in full is:

15. Chris Elder 14. George Watkins 13. Andy Forsyth 12. Pete Lucock (c) 11. Dan Moor 10. Brendan Cope 9. Oli Fox 1. Rowan Jenkins 2. Dylan Donnellan 3. Ewan McQuillin 4. Will Britton 5 Elliott Ward 6. Josh Bainbridge 7. Dan Temm 8. Richard Beck

Replacements: 16. Charlie Gibbings 17. Andy Foster 18. Jake Ilnicki 19. Kieran Frost 20. Trystan Lloyd 21. Sam Wolstenholme 22. Tom Bullough